Skip to content

Chevening Scholarships

Return to Fellowship Search

Chevening Scholarships are the UK government's global scholarship program. The program makes awards to outstanding scholars with leadership potential from around the world to study postgraduate courses at universities in the UK. Chevening Scholars come from over 116 countries worldwide (excluding the USA and the EU). The program provides full or part funding for full-time courses at postgraduate level, normally a one-year Master's degree, in any subject and at any UK university. The priority areas in which Scholarships are funded vary from country to country and can be found on the country pages of the Chevening website.

Award / Eligibility Details:

To qualify for a Chevening Scholarship, you must be a citizen of a Chevening-eligible country at the time of applying for the award, and intend to return there at the end of the period of study; hold a degree that is equivalent to at least an upper second-class honours degree in the UK; demonstrate that you have achieved the minimum Chevening English language requirement; have completed at least two years' work or equivalent experience before applying.

Deadline: November each year

Academic Level: Graduate;Post-Graduate;Post-Undergraduate

Type/Purpose: Graduate School Funding;Research;Study Abroad / International Exchange

Field of Study: All;Arts & Humanities;Business;Education / Teaching;Public Affairs / Policy;Social Sciences;STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math)

Location: International

Citizenship eligibility: Foreign Citizen / International Student

Special Circumstances:

For more information: