Skip to content

The Baruch College Faculty Handbook

Presidential Excellence Awards

Last updated on 6/14/2019


Baruch College Presidential Excellence Awards for

Distinguished Scholarship

Distinguished Teaching (full-time faculty)

Distinguished Teaching (adjunct faculty)

Distinguished Service

Established and maintained by grants from the Baruch College Fund, the Presidential Excellence Awards are given to faculty members to stimulate and reward outstanding achievement and to enhance the College as a center of excellence. The Awards are made by the President, acting on the recommendation of the Awards Committee. The recipient receives an honorarium and a certificate, and the names of all recipients are inscribed on a plaque, which is prominently displayed.


The Distinguished Scholarship Award (first awarded in1978) encompasses three categories:

Written Scholarship recognizes full-time faculty who have published a book, monograph, article, or series of articles of scholarly distinction in the past two years; Creative Work recognizes faculty who have had a distinguished achievement in the fine or performing arts during the past two years; Long-Term Career Achievements recognizes faculty whose scholarship in the past 10 to 15 years constitutes an exceptional contribution to their field.


The Distinguished Teaching Award (full-time faculty; first awarded in 1979) and The Distinguished Teaching Award (adjunct faculty; first awarded in 2000) recognize full-time faculty and adjunct faculty whose outstanding pedagogical ability, commitment to teaching, and innovation and effectiveness in teaching are making a positive impact on the quality of instruction and student life at the College.


The Distinguished Service Award (first awarded in 1993) recognizes full-time faculty whose service distinct from teaching and scholarship is improving the quality of the Baruch community, particularily in the areas of diversity, inclusion, and cultural competency, through leadership in developing new directions for College activity, in developing resources for the College, and/or in connecting the College to relevant external communities.


Previous Presidential Excellence Awards Recipients

Nomination Process

Nominations are welcome from any source within the Baruch Community, including departmental executive committees, deans, chairpersons, colleagues, and students. We invite alumni to nominate faculty; self-nominations are not accepted.  Faculty who have received Presidential Awards become eligible for another award in the same category after ten years.

All full-time faculty members who are in their fourth year or beyond at Baruch, with the exception of Distinguished Professors and Lecturers, are eligible for these awards. Adjunct members of the faculty who have taught for a total of six semesters or more at Baruch (i.e. in their sixth semester or beyond) are eligible for the Distinguished Teaching Award (Adjunct Faculty).

For the scholarship award, the letters of nomination should indicate the significance of the candidate's scholarship to her or his field. For the teaching award, the nomination should emphasize the instructor's effectiveness or innovation. For the service award, the nomination should include a description of the outstanding service in support of diversity, inclusion, and cultural competency both within and without the classroom. Nominees will be contacted for the supporting materials needed by the Awards Committee.

Nominations are to be sent to the Committee via the Provost's Office:

To make a nomination:

- Go to:

Presidential Excellence Awards Faculty Nomination Form
- Campus mail: Provost's Office; Attn: Awards; Box B4-230

The nomination period for the 2019 Presidential Excllence Awards will end on February 19, 2019. .