Congratulations to all of the winners of the Jerome L. Schulman Memorial Poetry Contest and the Harman Fall '17 Nonfiction Writing Contest! Stay tuned for our Spring '18 contest, which will be announced soon.

The Jerome L. Schulman Memorial Poetry Contest Winners

First Place: Lauren Yesko

Second Place: Ashley Somwaru

Third Place: Genesis Valdez and Miguel Machado

Shulman Memorial Poetry Contest


Harman Fall 2017 Nonfiction Writing Contest Winners

First Place: George Graham

Second Place: Jess Kraker

Third Place: Seth Cerrate

Nonfiction Contest




Roslyn Bernstein Prize for Cultural Reporting

RosBarbara Harman, Baruch alumnus Sidney Harman's daughter and executive director of the Harman Family foundation, joined by Harman family members, announced the Roslyn Bernstein Prize in Cultural Reporting on Dec. 8, 2015 at Roslyn Bernstein's career celebration gathering. The cash prize is awarded yearly to select students for exceptional cultural and arts reporting.

Roslyn Bernstein founded the Sidney Harman Writer-in-Residence Program in fall of 1998 and served as director of the program for 16 years (1998 - 2013). She has contributed greatly to the success of the program, as well as the success of the writers and students who have participated in it throughout the years.

Past winners:


Branden Cart

Rolando Cruz

Rebecca Simon

Ashley Somwaru

2016 (Inaugural Prize)

Lenore Fedow

Melissa Jones

Michael Machado

More info on this scholarship to come!

The City University of New York