A Distinguished Faculty

Department faculty are respected educators, skilled professionals, and recognized authorities in the field of communication studies. Widely known for their scholarship in these constantly evolving fields, faculty have authored numerous books, chapters, and articles in such areas as media history and criticism, business and professional communication, intercultural and international communication, and political communication. Faculty hold advanced degrees from Aalto Universiety, the CUNY Graduate Center, Columbia University, Nebraska University, New York University, Northwestern University, St. John's University, the State University of New York, the University of Georgia, the University of Kansas, the University of Massachusetts, the University of Michigan, the University of Oklahoma, the University of Pittsburgh, and the University of Texas.

full time faculty

Jana O'Keefe Bazzoni Jana O'Keefe Bazzoni
Professor & Chair
Organizational Communication, Intercultural Communication

Sarah BishopSarah Bishop
Assistant Professor
Critical Media Studies, Transnational and Intercultural Communication

William BoddyWilliam Boddy
Media Studies, Video Production,
Film Studies

Stuart DavisStuart Davis
Assistant Professor
International Communication, Communication for Social Change,
Activist and Radical Media

Eric M. GanderEric M. Gander
Associate Professor
Rhetorical Criticism, Public Argument, Political Philosophy

Elisabeth Gareis Elisabeth Gareis
Intercultural Communication, Communication Education

Michael GoodmanMichael Goodman
Corporate Communication, Investor Relations, Corporate Culture and Sustainability

Alison GriffithsAlison Griffiths
Media Studies, Documentary Film,
Media and Technology

Allison HahnAllison Hahn
Assistant Professor
Argumentation, International and Intercultural Communication, Public Address, Visual Rhetoric

Michael KaplanMichael Kaplan
Assistant Professor
Critical Comm, Cultural and Media Studies, Citizenship and Democratic Culture, Visual Rhetoric, Economic Discourse

Minna Logemann Minna Logemann
Assistant Professor
Global Corporate Communication, Organizational and Intercultural Communication

Caryn Medved Caryn Medved
Organizational Communication, Family Communication, Training & Development

Rebecca MerkinRebecca Merkin
Associate Professor
Intercultural and Interpersonal Communication, Impression Management, Research Methods

Elizabeth M. MineiElizabeth M. Minei
Assistant Professor
Organizational Communication, Leadership, Small Business, HRO's

Patricia Ougourlian Patricia Ougourlian
Public Speaking, Speech Pathology, Accent Reduction

Denise Patrick Denise Patrick
Learning & Development, Leadership, Organizational Communication & Development

Beth Seplow Beth Seplow
Speech Communication, Speech Pathology

Rianne Subijanto Rianne Subijanto
Assistant Professor
Critical Theory, Communication History, Global Media Studies, Social Movements

  • Rick WilkinsRichard Wilkins
    Associate Professor
    Intercultural Communication, Ethnography of Communication, Research Methodology



  • Stephen DishartStephen Dishart
    Crisis Management, Corporate Communication, Branding

    Peter HirschPeter Hirsch
    Corporate Relations, Information Technology, Corporate Intranet/Internet and Social Media

  • Linda LopezLinda Lopez
    Managerial and Corporate Communication, Crisis Communication, Ethics


male silhouetteFloyd Norris


    James Armstrong
    Adrienne Avery
    Michael Bayer
    Lem Brewster
    Darnide Cayo
    Carl Cofield
    Piper Corp
    Kate Czajkowski
    Stephen Dishart
    Karen Dunn
    Margit Edwards
    Brian Farkas
    Zack Fuller
    David Gechlik
    Carol-Leisa Gray
    Anna Harb
    Marcus Harvey
    Kyenun Kim
    Kyungjin Jo
    Roy Johnson
    Christine Klusko
    Linda Lopez
    Eve R. Maged
    Ivan Makar
    Joyce Mandell
    Vyshali Manivannan
    Mark McGovern
    Susan Mekrami
    Shoshana Ohlbaum
    Gino Perrotte
    Thomas Pison
    Juan Recondo
    Bryce Renninger
    Sana Reynolds
    Lori Seward
    Sarah Sharp
    Donald Singletary
    Carly Smith
    Pamela Michelle Thielma
    Andrea Tienan
    Mara Valderrama
    Dan Venning
    Karl Westerling
    Deborah Wetzel
    Melissa Wong
    Erica Yakobzon
    Alexander Yaroslavsky


(to be filled)

The City University of New York