2010 Carey Journalism Award to Professor Marlow

2010 Carey Journalism Award to Professor MarlowWeissman Journalism Professor Gene Marlow was awarded the 2010 James W. Carey Award for Outstanding Media Ecology Journalism, at the 11th Annual Media Ecology Association (MEA) Conference at the University of Maine, Orono. First awarded in 2007, previous recipients include Philip Marchand, Marvin Kitman, and Thomas de Zengotita. The award, named in honor of the late Dr. James W. Carey of Columbia University, was based on a series of 21 articles that appeared on www.jazz.com between December '07 and August '09.

The Media Ecology Association is an international not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting the study, research, criticism, and application of media ecology in educational, industry, political, civic, social, cultural, and artistic contexts. 

Media Ecology is the study of media environments, the idea that technology and techniques, modes of information and codes of communication play a leading role in human affairs. The association is intellectually based on the writings of such media analysts as Marshall McLuhan, Harold Innis, Walter J. Ong, Neil Postman, Susanne Langer, Jacques Ellul, Lewis Mumford, and Eric Havelock, among others.

MEA President Janet Sternberg (Fordham University) presented the award.

The City University of New York