Weissman Announces Berlfein Prize for Best Undergraduate Nonfiction Writing

The competition, which will be held for the first time in Spring 2010, is open to students enrolled in Tier III minor capstone courses. Entries must be submitted by faculty, with a limit of one entry per section for each appropriate course. Faculty, please note: in submitting a student paper, the instructor agrees to work with the student on revising the work in line with comments by judges, as explained below.  

A committee of faculty judges will review the entries and identify five finalists. Each of the five papers will be critiqued by the judges and returned to the student and the faculty member. Each student finalist will receive a prize of $100, provided the student agrees to revise the paper in line with the suggestions of the judges and in coordination with the submitting teacher.  

The committee will then evaluate the revised papers and select one winner. The winning student will receive a prize of $1,000. The faculty mentor whose student wins will receive recognition from his peers.

The competition is open to all Baruch undergraduates, whatever their major, so long as they are enrolled in a capstone course in a Tier III minor. In this first year of the Berlfein prize, only work in Fall 2009 classes will be eligible. The competition is restricted to analytical papers of 6 to 10 pages, including research papers, essays, memoirs, biographical portraits, criticism, or journalism. Not eligible are works of fiction, poetry, drama, or performance art of all types.


Jan. 28 (first day of classes, Spring semester): final deadline for faculty to submit student papers.

March 1: finalists are notified.

April 1: final deadline for revised papers

Please direct any questions to the Berlfein faculty committee: Joshua Mills, chair (journalism); Julie Des Jardins (history); Brian Householder (communication studies); Jessica Lang (English). 

The City University of New York