Professor Abrahamian Elected to AAAS

Prof. Ervand Abrahamian Weissman School of Arts and Sciences Professor Ervand Abrahamian is among 229 leaders in the sciences, social sciences, the humanities, the arts, business, and public affairs who have been elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The new fellows join one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honorary societies. A center for independent policy research, the Academy celebrates the 230th anniversary of its founding this year.

“We are pleased to welcome these distinguished individuals into the Academy,” said Leslie Berlowitz, Chief Executive Officer and William T. Golden Chair. “We look forward to drawing on their knowledge and expertise to provide practical policy solutions to the pressing issues of the day.”

“The men and women we elect today are true pathbreakers who have made unique contributions to their fields and to the world,” said Academy Chair Louis W. Cabot. “The Academy honors them and their work, and they in turn honor us.”

American Academy of Arts & Sciences logoSince its founding by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock, and other scholar-patriots, the Academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the twentieth. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates, more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners, as well as MacArthur and Guggenheim fellows, and Grammy, Tony, and Oscar Award winners.

A complete list of the 2010 class, which will be inducted at a ceremony on October 9, at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts, is located here.

Text from, edited by J D Sallen

The City University of New York