See What Our Current Students Are Up To


Victoria Dedaj, BSPA '10

Victoria was accepted to the Bernard M. Baruch Presidential Leadership Program for Interns, a newly-launched internship program at Baruch College to benefit both our college and students as a whole.  Victoria was selected as one of the 20 students in the program and awarded a grant of $5,000 to complete 300 hours of service to the college.  Her assignment is at the Dean's Office in the Zicklin School of Business where she is working on rigorous projects with the data analyst team to evaluate faculty and course offerings.  

2010 New York State Model Senate Session Project

Jose Sanchez, BSPA ’10, Taisha Monsanto, BSPA ’10, Jennifer Cid, BSPA '11, Jennifer Gonzalez, BSPA ’12, and Yelky Ramos, BSPA ’12 have been selected as participants in the 2010 New York State Model Senate Session Project entitled Somos El Futuro to be held in Albany on Saturday, April 17, 2010.  The Model Senate Project is a unique leadership development opportunity.  Students get to work alongside other CUNY and SUNY students to formulate policy positions, debate, and vote on the floor of the New York State Senate on an issue important to New Yorkers.  The Model Senate Session will be held in the New York State Senate Chamber in Albany on Saturday, April 17, 2010 in conjunction with the annual Somos El Futuro Conference.  Yelky Ramos will participate in a Q&A segment during the CUNY Luncheon with State Senator Jose Peralta, which precedes the Model Senate Session. Students will travel to Albany by bus, leaving New York City on the morning of April 17th and returning the evening of Sunday, April 18. While in Albany, students will also attend a CUNY Luncheon and the Somos El Futuro Gala Dinner Dance on Saturday.

Spring 2010 Hagedorn Fellows

Eighteen Baruch College juniors and seniors, who will receive their bachelors degrees with a major in Public Affairs, are recipients of the first round of scholarships funded by a $1 million gift from Baruch College alumna Amy Hagedorn, class of 1958.

This is an outstanding gift for SPA, and the largest in its 15-year history. Hagedorn reconnected with the College after 50 years, on the anniversary of her 50th reunion.  Her gift will fund scholarships and paid internships for undergraduate students in the School of Public Affairs (SPA), as well as providing support for internship faculty and general support for SPA and for the College. The Hagedorn Fellows are: Jennifer Cid, Katsiaryna Colka, America Erne, Maria Galarza, Jennifer Gonzalez, Caitlin Hannon, Horace Henry, Alexandra Herrera, Philip Kao, Heather Layland, Kaarine Mohammed, Unchenwa Njoku, Chris Parker, Anna Ponomareva, Yelky Ramos, Giovanna Romero-Gil, Jose Luis Sanchez, and Sophia Zardiashvili.

Caitlin Hannon , BSPA '10

Caitlin was accepted into the Education Policy Fellowship Program at Teachers College, Columbia.  Since its inception in 1964, the Education Policy Fellowship Program (EPFP™) has produced over 6,000 alumni who now lead at high levels in all sectors of American life:  K-12 and higher education organizations; local, state, and federal government agencies; public policy groups; foundations and nonprofits; and corporations.  EPFP’s mission is to equip leaders in public and private organizations to create and implement sound public policy in education and related fields. The EPFP curriculum consists of three major strands:  leadership theory and practice, public policy, and professional networking.

Giovanna Romero-Gil , BSPA '11

Giovanna has been selected one of only five fellows for Manhattan Borough President Scott M. Stringer’s Civic Leaders of Tomorrow Public Policy Fellowship for the spring 2010 term.  This fellowship promotes future leaders in public policy and advocacy through fellowship placements at not-for-profit and community-based organizations in New York City.  Fellows are placed at organizations advocating for underserved communities with a focus on immigrant rights. Fellows will engage in work involving policy advocacy and interaction with government entities and communities served by the organization.  Fellows will receive a $1,000 stipend for the duration of the Fellowship which is one semester.  Fellows may also seek arrangements with their university to receive academic credit.

Giovanna has also won an American Humanics NextGen Award. NextGen is a nationally recognized and highly competitive internship/scholarship program that offers a scholarship award of $4,500. Baruch College students have been consistently included in the program since it originated in the summer of 2007. Selected students are given access to and support from a network of nonprofit leaders who help guide the students through the internship program and beyond.

Uchenwa Njoku, BSPA '10

Uchenwa has created a non-profit called 'Flaunt Africa.'  Flaunt Africa is a youth run non-profit organization that raises awareness of a Positive Africa, portraying the developing continent from a more likable perspective while raising funds to improve her impoverished communities.  Flaunt Africa participated in the Sixth Annual Youth Assembly at the United Nation's parish, Church of the Holy Family in August, 2009.  Flaunt Africa was highlighted in the September 14th, 2009 'Features' section of The Ticker, Baruch College's undergraduate student newspaper.  In that article, Uchenwa was quoted as saying that “[Flaunt Africa is] trying to showcase Africa from the platform that people have never seen before,” said founder Uchenwa Njoku. “So instead of seeing Africa as full of HIV and AIDS or the Africa of poverty, this is the Africa of development.”

Carlos Ruiz, BSPA '10

Carlos is the winner of an Edward T. Rogowsky Internship for the summer of 2009. The Rogowsky Internship is a highly competitive and intensive program that offers CUNY students the opportunity to work in the offices of U.S. Representatives and Senators, congressional committees, federal agencies, and at a variety of national and international non-governmental organizations. CUNY Washington, D.C. Internship students work full-time at their placements and are provided with a $2000 award to offset their living costs. CUNY also covers housing costs. Carlos worked with Congressman Eliot Engel, mostly dealing with the Foreign Affairs Committee and the subcommittee on the Western Hemisphere, which Engel chairs.

Carlos has also won two scholarships at Baruch, the Irwin Fromme and Tinker Foundation scholarships, each worth $1,000. The Irwin Fromme Scholarship is given to matriculated students with upper class standing who have achieved academic distinction and declared a major or concentration in the study of foreign trade, international marketing or international finance. Mr. Fromme graduated from Baruch in 1954. He was a trader at Centrotrade which is an international trading company that deals in minerals, lead and other commodities. The Tinker Foundation scholarship is merit-based.

UPDATE: In October, 2009, Carlos won a Verizon grant through the CUNY Leadership Academy. The Verizon Foundation has awarded a $125,000 grant to fund scholarships to The City University of New York Leadership Academy. The scholarships, each for $5,000, covered the full cost of tuition and fees for the 2009-2010 academic year for 25 CUNY Leadership Academy Fellows. The Fellows Program is the academy's signature program and provides a unique academic and co-curricular opportunity for students who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership on their campuses and in their communities. The year-long program brings together best practices in leadership development from across CUNY. This year's Fellows represent 16 CUNY colleges, 20 majors and all five boroughs of New York City, and highlight the diversity of students at CUNY.



Contact Us   About Our Site   Privacy   Site Map   Text Only   Home
© Baruch College