Skip to content

Baruch College Wins 2008 TIAA-CREF Theodore Hesburgh Award For Outstanding Faculty Development Program

New York, NY – Jan. 16, 2008 – Baruch College has been awarded the 2008 Theodore Hesburgh Award, in recognition of the Bernard L. Schwartz Communication Institute's effort to create a communication-enriched learning environment and encourage curricular innovation and effective teaching at the College. The prestigious Hesburgh Award recognizes exceptional faculty development programs that enhance undergraduate teaching and learning, and comes with a $20, 000 gift to Baruch.

Mikhail Gershovich, director of the Schwartz Institute and a coordinator of Baruch’s Writing Across the Curriculum program, described the award as a gratifying acknowledgment of the institute’s role. “I am delighted that Baruch College is able to benefit from our work in this way, and that is due to the hard work of everyone at the Institute.”

Established in 1997 with a gift from Bernard L. Schwartz (’48), the Schwartz Institute collaborates with faculty members at Baruch to infuse communication-intensive activities into the curriculum. The Institute’s roots in a private-public partnership, and its synthesis of faculty training, communication consulting, and curricular development under one roof are rare, according to Gershovich.

“We are unique in that we carry out an exceptionally wide range of projects, including co-curricular programs and instructional technology development, as well as functioning as an academic service unit,” explained Gershovich, who joined the institute as a Communication Fellow in 1999. “We hold a variety of faculty development seminars, work individually with faculty interested in developing communication-intensive courses, and provide them with Communication Fellows who support their curricula.”

The Institute has also taken a leading role in pioneering the use of weblogs to improve student writing at Baruch, and its blog (found at serves as a forum for Schwartz Fellows to interact with other communication instructors and share ideas about the field.

A wide variety of courses in the Zicklin School of Business and the Weissman School of Arts and Sciences have benefited from the Institute’s expertise and input. Examples include Business Policy 5100, in which Fellows provide feedback to students on their oral presentation skills; and in Great Works of Literature courses, for which Fellows conduct ongoing writing and presentation workshops on a range of topics.

The TIAA-CREF Hesburg Award is named in honor of Reverend Theodore M. Hesburgh, president emeritus of the University of Notre Dame and a pioneering policy leader in the education field. The prize will be presented at the annual American Council on Education conference on February 11, 2008. To read more about the Hesburgh Award, visit the TIAA-CREF website at

Press Release: Baruch College Wins 2008 TIAA-CREF Hesburgh Award for Outstanding Faculty Development Program

Olayinka Fadahunsi
Web Communications Coordinator

Bookmark and Share