Skip to content

Global Highlight

Baruch College Collaborative Research Travel Grant (CRG) Update

The Collaborative Research Travel Grants (CRTG) Program, funded by the Office of the Vice Provost for Global Strategies, was created to enhance, through global research collaborations with our partner institutions abroad, the prestige and prominence of Baruch College to a national and international audience. Through direct contact, faculty can explore mutual interests and forge collaborative research agendas.

Vice Provost for Global Strategies, Myung-Soo Lee, expects the travel grant program will build on the goals and priorities set forth in Baruch Colleges Global Strategic Plan 2014-2019. The ultimate goal is to establish, nurture and sustain long-term research collaborations resulting in innovative research that will benefit our respective campuses and student populations.

In its inception in 2014, CRTG provided travel support for faculty members visiting our partner institutions in Brazil, the University of Sao Paulo and the Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro. CRTG faculty grantees David Gruber, Jamal Jalilian-Marian, Tshombe Miles and Pablo Peixoto of the Weissman School of Arts and Sciences established initial links with collaborating faculty at the University of Sao Paolo.

In the second year of the program, CRTG supported all travel expenses for faculty members that were part of Baruchs May 2015 delegation to Turkey. Currently, Baruch has established partnerships with Bilkent University in Ankara and Ko University in Istanbul. CRTG faculty grantees included Anna Boozer, Erin Eatough and Pablo Peixoto of the Weissman School of Arts and Sciences; David Hoffman in the School of Public Affairs and Emre Veral of the Zicklin School of Business.

In June 2016, the Zicklin School of Business Aaronson Department of Business and the Weissman Center for International Business will sponsor an interdisciplinary conference at Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (UC3M) focusing on Business Analytics and Big Data. The CRTG program will provide travel support for a faculty member to participate in the conference, establish links and explore possibilities for collaborative research with UC3M faculty.

Zicklin School of Business faculty participants will include Karthik Sridhar, Pragya Mathur, Radhika Jain, Abdullah Tansel, Ana Valenzuela and Marshall Sponder. Charles Scherbaum of the Weissman School of Arts and Sciences will be the CRTG faculty grantee. Professor David Luna, Department Chair of the Aaronson Department of Marketing and International Business and Vice Provost Lee will also attend.