Baruch College Faculty Senate

Academic Freedom at Baruch

The Faculty Senate's Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility is one of the resources available to you at Baruch College. The function of this committee is to protect and to assure your rights as a member of the academic community to freely study, discuss, investigate, teach, research, publish or administer, as appropriate to your respective role(s) and responsibilities.

If you have a complaint regarding infringements upon these rights, please download the Academic Freedom Complaint Form, fill it out in as much detail as possible, and email it to Kevin Frank, committee chair, at academic.freedom@baruch.cuny.edu, or send a hard copy to the committee in care of its current chair at the address below:

Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility
C/O Kevin Frank, Committee Chair
Baruch College, Department of English
55 Lexington Avenue
Box B 7-240
New York, NY 10010-5585

Also, feel free to contact the following members of the committee directly with any questions or comments.
   - Kevin Frank: WSAS/English (academic.freedom@baruch.cuny.edu; 646.312. 3984)
   - Cristina Balboa: SPA (Cristina.Balboa@baruch.cuny.edu)
   - Lisa Ellis: Library (Lisa.Ellis@baruch.cuny.edu)
   - Kevin Frank: WSAS/English (Kevin.Frank@baruch.cuny.edu)
   - Samuel Johnson: WSAS/Psychology
                                      (Samuel.Johnson@baruch.cuny.edu)
   - Chandrika Kulatilleke: WSAS/Natural Sciences/Chemistry
                                       (Chandrika.Kulatilleke@baruch.cuny.edu)
   - Karl Lang – ZSB/SCIS (Karl.Lang@baruch.cuny.edu)

Please note: historically, the Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility has acted only when there were specific complaints from faculty, and such requests for action remain our priority. In the absence of such inquiries, however, the committee may examine existing or potential threats to academic freedom posed by CUNY and Baruch programs and policies. We therefore also look forward to hearing your suggestions of programs and policies we should review.

Thank you, and we look forward to serving you.