Skip to content

Baruch Computing and Technology Center (BCTC)

Proofpoint How To's



Below is a list of common tasks for using Proofpoint. You can also access a complete guide to managing your Proofpoint account here.


How do I manage my Proofpoint Account?

The Manage My Account link from within your Proofpoint Digest e-mail message allows you to make several changes to your Digest from a single web page. From this special web page you can add and delete e-mail addresses from your personal Safe Senders and Blocked Senders lists. You can also make changes to your personal profile, such as selecting a Spam Policy from the list of available policies, and selecting whether or not you want to receive a Digest even when you do not have messages in the Quarantine.

  • Click on Manage My Account from within a digest message or go directly to https://bbspam01.baruch.cuny.edu:10020/
  • Click on Profile in the bottom left corner of your browser window.
  • Click on Settings.

How do I log-in?

Your user name is your network login (e.g. jsmith) that you use to log into the computer and also to check your e-mail.

Your password is the same password that you use to log into your computer and also to check your e-mail.

How do I view, release, safelist or mark not spam to an e-mail I wish to read in my Proofpoint digest?

  • From the Proofpoint Digest e-mail in your in-box, you can select the option that you wish to perform. Here is an explanation of what each option allows you do to:
    • View = this will allow you to view the e-mail
    • Release = this will release the e-mail ONLY and within a few minutes will appear in your in-box.
    • Safelist = by selecting this option, you will allow the sender to be added to your safelist and not blocked again, please make sure after you safelist the e-mail to release the e-mail.
    • Not SPAM = selecting this option will deliver the e-mail. to your in-box and report the message to Proofpoint to not block this sender again

How do I view, release, safelist or mark not spam to a e-mail(s) I wish to read from the Proofpoint web-site?

From the Proofpoint web-site, you can select the option that you wish to perform. After you have logged into the web-site, click on Quarantine from the bottom left hand corner. On the right hand side you will see a list of e-mails that have been blocked by Proofpoint as SPAM.  Here is an explanation of what each option allows you do to:

  • View = this will allow you to view the e-mail
  • Release = this will release the e-mail ONLY and within a few minutes will appear in your in-box.
  • Safelist = by selecting this option, you will allow the sender to be added to your safelist and not blocked again, please make sure after you safelist the e-mail to release the e-mail.
  • Not SPAM = selecting this option will deliver the e-mail. to your in-box and report the message to Proofpoint to not block this sender again

To perform one of these tasks, click on the box to the left of the e-mail so a check mark will appear, then click the option at the top of the page you wish to perform; delete, safelist, Not Spam, Release

How do I add a e-mail address to my safe senders list?

  • After you log into the web site, click on Lists on the left side of the window, click on on Safe Senders List, then click New from the top of the web page to add a Safe Sender to the list. Enter the users full entire e-mail address or domain and then click Save.

** When you add a domain name (e.g., yahoo.com) to the Safe Senders list, all e-mail addresses from that domain will be considered “safe.” To restrict the safe list to specific senders, simply enter their full e-mail address (e.g., john.doe@yahoo.com).**

How do I edit or delete an e-mail address already added to my safe senders list?

After you log into the web site, click on Lists on the left side of the window, then select Blocked Senders Lists. You will see on the right hand side of the page your blocked senders list. To the left of the e-mail address you wish to edit or delete, click the box so a check mark appears, then click Edit to edit the e-mail address or delete to delete the e-mail address. If you are editing the e-mail address, click Edit from the top menu choice, make the changes and then click Update to save your settings.  Once you click delete, the e-mail message will be removed from your list.

How do I add an e-mail address to my Blocked senders list?

  • After you log into the web site, click on Lists on the left side of the window, click on on Blocked Senders List, then click New from the top of the web page to add a Blocked Sender to the list. Enter the users full entire e-mail address or domain and then click Save.

How do I edit or delete an e-mail address already added to my Blocked senders list?

  • After you log into the web site, click on Lists on the left side of the window, then select Blocked Senders List. You will see on the right hand side of the page your blocked senders list. To the left of the e-mail address you wish to edit or delete, click the box so a check mark appears, then click Edit to edit the e-mail address or delete to delete the e-mail address. If you are editing the e-mail address, click Edit from the top menu choice, make the changes and then click Update to save your settings.  Once you click delete, the e-mail message will be removed from your list.

How do I request a digest to be sent to me?

  • While logged into the Proofpoint system, click on Lists at the VERY TOP and from the drop down arrow, select Request Digest. Within a few minutes you will receive a digest in your e-mail account

What settings can I change under my profile?

  • If you are confident with Proofpoint's ability to determine spam, you can configure your account to only deliver a digest when Proofpoint has "possible spam" for you to view. Click on Profile on the left hand side, and click settings. Under settings you can select Send Digest with new messages in my End User Digest (default selection) or Send digest even when I have no messages in my End User Digest.

How long do messages stay in my quarantine?

  • Messages left in your quarantine will remain there for 2 weeks (14 days) before they are automatically deleted.