Renovating the Lawrence and Eris Field Building at 17 Lexington Avenue

The History

Original Construction of 23rd St. in 1929Built in 1929 to house the College of the City of New York's School of Business and Civic Administration, the Lawrence and Eris Field Building is the historic hub and sentimental heart of Baruch College (established as a senior college in 1968). This iconic, original structure serves the College?s mission to educate men and women for leadership roles in business, civic and cultural affairs, and academia through rigorous, but affordable, baccalaureate, master's, and doctoral degree programs.

Noted for its attractive Italian Romanesque, brick-and-limestone exterior (designed by Thompson, Holmes & Converse), the Field Building (also known affectionately as 17 Lex to generations of students) adds beauty to its distinguished neighborhood.

Of course, the Field Building is first and foremost a functional structure. Each semester, it accommodates 4,000 students, faculty, and staff members. Its renovation is needed to ensure that it remains relevant and well equipped for them and for future Baruchians.

Click here to learn more about the rich history of the Lawrence and Eris Field Building in words, photos, and testimonials